Sorry about yesterday

See,  Since I don’t have my drivers license, I gotta walk my kids to school,  and since my husband isn’t home (Survival course for work) I have to walk to get groceries too.  So yeah yesterday was spent walking…A LOT.  So I justifiably didn’t do much in the way of sitting at the computer and blogging.  I did however make a nice Salmon pie and will share with you the recipe, yes, with pictures.

Salmon Pie

Ingredients:

FILLING (you wanna make this first and put it in the fridge to chill)
2 cans of salmon
3 potatoes, boiled and mashed up
1tsp tarragon
3tsp garlic powder,
3tsp onion powder,
1tsp seasoned salt
a dash of pepper
2tbsp dried Parsley

Now,  You dump the filling ingredients in a bowl and you mix it very well. so it kinda looks like this:
Put it in the fridge to cool off.
Now for the pie crust:
Ingredients:
1 cup shortening
2 cups flour
1tsp salt.
With a fork mash this together till it looks like this:
Then slowly add ice water a few tablespoons at a time until it starts to form a smooth dough.  I don’t really have a measurement for this because it’s subjective.
Put it in the fridge to chill for a bit too.
Then, take half the pie dough, roll it out on a floured surface and put it in a pie tin, add filling.
Then you roll out the other half of the dough and put on top of the filling..making a PIE.
Like this:
Poke a few holes in the top with a fork, and brush with some milk or egg wash to give it a golden/glossy sheen as it cooks, 375 degree oven for about 45min to an hour, don’t cook it longer than that or the crust well *points to picture below*  I was too busy watching a movie with my kids.  Whoops  was still edible, the crust was just a little darker than it should have been.
Then serve:  I served it with some Green Giant steamed broccoli/cauliflower with cheese sauce.
About Monica Baker

Stay at home mom trying to get back into the workforce and blogging about it. Nothing super exciting really. But if you insist on reading go right ahead. If anything feel free to leave tips!

Posted on March 1, 2011, in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Wow, it seems to be delicious!

  2. Seafood never has agreed with me. 😦

  3. It doesn't even look that bad slightly burnt. Delicious. Feed me please.

  4. Looks great, I am hungry now. 😦

  5. you make me hungry now

  6. oh that had my mouth watering. can i use tuna instead of salmon?

  7. nice…although i was distracted by your tumblr feed. i think i might add one to my blog :0

Leave a Reply

