My New Blog! YAAAY! *muppet arms*

So, I’m gonna follow in the footsteps of my Heatheny friends and get a wordpress blog because that’s what all the cool kids are doing.  I do have a Google Blog but everyone knows about that so I’m gonna go totally hipster and come here.  

 

So, a bit about me.  I’m a 34 year old stay at home mom.  My faith, well that’s what this blog will mostly be about I guess.  My UPG’s and my growth and all that.  So..here’s how I started kinda..

Ok, I was a wee little sprite, as a kid I was brought up Christian by my mom.  My dad was a fallen out Catholic, so he didn’t have much of a role in my spiritual upbringing. I grew, and as I grew the Christian life didn’t sit with me very well.  Especially the anti-woman messages.  So, at around 19 I decided Wicca/Paganism was for me.  I used websearches the best I could to learn how to channel what stuff I might have, basic spells and all that, but it didn’t feel RIGHT.  So I started looking into Polytheism.  Like why would we just toss all those Gods, because of one Jealous God? Right?

Anyway, long story short, I started my Polytheistic way when I moved to a Big City.  I attended WCOC (Wiccan Church of Canada) classes and Moots, learned a whole bunch of stuff, and found fellowship amongst various practices,  it was awesome.

Then I met my ex.  The Gods turned from me at that point, except one.  Yeah, you know The One if you’re here.  He happens to like Hot Messes and Fixer Uppers.  heh.  Loki kept His distance, but eventually He saw that I was gonna self destruct in a not so glorious way so pop went the condom and 9 months later, and various amounts of introspection, and a newborn little girl, I left that lifestyle.

RE-Met my husband (We knew each other since grade 4. Kept in touch through the years but never had anything more serious than a fling when we were 19)  got married, and the whole “ERMAHGERD ABRAHAMIC” stuff got it’s tow hold on me when I started peeking in at a Christian Marriage site to see what I could do to fix the marital difficulties we had.  I got sucked back in.  Of course the whole “YOU MUST BE SUBMISSIVE TO YOUR HUSBAND” and “He’s the head of the household you must bow and grovel and simper to him” crap really started to do my head in.  I started to get more and more unhappy.   Granted, he didn’t help any by being a colossal dick either, and not in a good way.  So, Loki decided to take A Hand in my life once again.

Formenting Change is one of Loki’s specialties.  One of my more attuned friends at the time said I had a Loki on my shoulder, and that’s what got me to go back into learning and researching polytheism, how to honour the Gods and Goddesses, and all that other good stuff.  I feel at peace, well as at peace as one can be with a Loki in your life.  

So, here’s the UPG as to why I finally booked it out of the Abrahamic religions.  

Most of my UPG’s come in the form of visions and whatnot when I’m half asleep because I have yet to reach the ability of snapping into a trance at will. So here goes nothing.

The Abrahamic religions, were created by Men, to give themselves control.  Once Men realized that if they had sex with a woman, the woman had a chance of getting pregnant, they wanted to make bloody sure that offspring was theirs.  So, they started the whole Chastity and Purity crap. All because of..ownership.  Land ownership, livestock ownership, they wanted to make sure their kids were THEIRS so the material goods they worked for in this life were able to be passed down to THEM.  Unfortunately, women being the vessels of life, needed to be controlled and dominated to make sure the babies were theirs, because you know, no Maury Povich back then. So, that started the whole “Women are nothing but Chattel to make sure what is MINE stays MINE even when I die, at least what I worked for will still be MINE”  They created religions around it. Three.  

If you read all the Abrahamic Texts, how much of it deals with ownership of proprety, and geneology? Tells you something doesn’t it?  I just don’t want to associate with anything that views me and my daughter as anything more as a baby making machine to be owned, dominated and cowed into submission because of some guy’s desire to make sure material goods stay HIS for all time.  

Anyway, I’ll probably write more later, I ramble.  I need to shut up and feed my kids now.

Later!

About Monica Baker

Stay at home mom trying to get back into the workforce and blogging about it. Nothing super exciting really. But if you insist on reading go right ahead. If anything feel free to leave tips!

Posted on June 22, 2013, in Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

