This… Just…w..t..f

Ok, this stuff isn’t new to me.  Since I hung out on a Christian marriage site, the idea of “Christian Domestic Discipline” came up quite often.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2346393/The-Christian-movement-tells-husbands-SPANK-wives-correct-misbehavior.html  So seeing that isn’t a super shocker..

What is shocking is, that it’s gaining mainstream momentum.  First off, let’s not get into the whole “Headship and Submission” crap.  I was told the reason my husband had issues with me was because I wasn’t “Submissive” enough.  I needed to let him be “head of the household” “Respect his Authoritah!”  

My self esteem and self worth as a woman went down the shitter because of that mindset.  I was worth LESS than him, because I was the WIFE, a WOMAN.  A “Weaker Vessel”.  Think about that for a minute.  I put myself lower than another human being, because some pontiff said that’s where I belonged.

Remember my first post?  Abrahamic faiths being crazy misogynistic because of ownership?  Yup, that’s why.  Keep your woman in line, she’s subhuman anyway, just another one of your possessions.  You’re able to beat your cows to get them to move, beat her too.  (There’s another Abrahamic Monotheistic religion that allows the beating of wives, as well..btw) 

“But Dino!” I hear you exclaim,  “Spanking isn’t beating!  It isn’t like I’m punching her in the face!!!”  No,  but you’re still hitting her, to assert your control over her person, because well she isn’t a person to you.  Eventually she’ll “Obey” out of fear, not love.  She doesn’t want to be smacked around anymore, so she’ll do what you say.

The whole “Headship and Submission” is bullshit.  No one is better than anyone else.  A Marriage is a union of two equal people.  TWO EQUAL PEOPLE.  (or if you’re poly, however many but all are equal)  

Now, if you’re into the whole Dom/Sub S&M scene, that’s cool.  That dynamic is totally different than the Christian Headship and Submission crap.  TRUST ME, I’ve engaged in both, and in my experience, the Headship model is worse.  It’s “I’m Better than you because GOD Told me I’m better than you..since GOD told me blahblahblah”  A GOOD S&M relationship, neither dom nor sub believe they are BETTER than the other…at least they shouldn’t, and more often than not, they don’t.  

Anyway, the long and the short of it, it’s another one of the many reasons why I stepped away from the Abrahamic religions.  Got tired of hating myself because I’m a woman.

 I’m a woman, not a piece of chattel, my daughter is going to be a woman one day, and not a piece of chattel.  No one owns us.  Our bodies are our own to share with whom we choose, not for you to take, control, and violate. 

About Monica Baker

Stay at home mom trying to get back into the workforce and blogging about it. Nothing super exciting really. But if you insist on reading go right ahead. If anything feel free to leave tips!

Posted on June 25, 2013, in General Crap, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ve been witness to some what you describe actually played out in front of the church. It’s an abhorrent mindset and I feel for the women who suffer under it. Abrahamic religions can be some nasty business if you lack a dick.

Leave a Reply

