What I’ve been up to today.

Today has been a busy day.  I got kicked in the ass this morning to make a wand.  BUT Frank had plans today to go to the oldest settlement in Canada. Yes it’s even older than Quebec City.  Annapolis Royal.   So this morning I went to the branch pile Frank had at the front of the house and picked out a really nice piece of maple.

It was still green.  So I stripped the bark off and whittled the tip while it was easy to work with that way.  We then went off to Annapolis Royal

There, I saw Ganesh.  Well not REALLY Him, but He was in the form of a Dancing Statue in a shop.  I felt compelled to leave Him an offering, and I left Him the rose quartz I’ve had sitting in my purse for-EV-ER.  I think He appreciated it.  I do know that the shopkeep was rather taken aback to me leaving an offering for Ganesh, but he had a Buddhist vibe to him, and he went and explained every piece in his shop to me.  It was wonderful.  I really want to go back there soon. I bought a hair stick from his shop because it was what I was drawn to more strongly.  I did love the offering bowls he had, and the prayer flags. Oh it was like awesome.

Anyway, I came back and I put my wand blank in the oven to dry for about 30 minutes.  Came out wonderfully.  I sanded it to baby smooth using different grits of sandpaper, like I learned in woodshop so long ago! hah.  I then proceeded to find Frank’s soldering iron, since I didn’t have a wood burning tool.

I then, burned all the Elder Futhark runes spiralling down the wand from JUST below the tip as you can see in this picture:

Image

 

 

Then, I felt moved to burn a ravens feather

Image

 

Then, Yggdrasil 

Image

 

I still need to get some wire so I can secure a piece of onyx to the hilt, and some minwax shelac or something like that to seal it all up nice like.  BUT, it’s pretty much done.  

YAY.  I’m exhausted.  I put out so much energy today I need sleepy tiems.  

About Monica Baker

Stay at home mom trying to get back into the workforce and blogging about it. Nothing super exciting really. But if you insist on reading go right ahead. If anything feel free to leave tips!

Posted on July 29, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

