Remember those 25 pieces of bloodstone?

Well, I did it. I made my elder furthark set.

20130802-184646.jpg
Here are the stones in the Baggie after I bought them.

20130802-184812.jpg
Here are the stones painted n ready for the dremmel tool. Since bloodstone is a hardness of 7, I needed to use diamond tipped attachments.

20130802-184930.jpg
Here is the bag I sewed to keep my runes in. Nice tree fabric eh?

20130802-185022.jpg
Runes before sealing and touching up. I have some sculpting tools that let me fix any paint errors. I used gold metal flake enamel from Testors. Yes a model paint. It works.

20130802-185211.jpg
Here they are all done and sealed. I used a gloss clear lacquer to seal everything in.

Pretty much, 3 applications of blood, 3 coats of paint and 3 coats of laquer. The carving and blooding were done on the Star of David Monday. I just sealed em today because that’s cool and I wanted the blooding to dry Nd soak into the carved stone.

Anyway some of you are wondering why I chose such a difficult medium to work with for my first set of runes. Well. Odin told me to. Loki chose the colour that the runes would be painted after the carving. I practiced on some shell and wood first so I could get used to using the dremmel. My mother in law taught me how to use the sewing machine so I could make the bag. I wasn’t going to wreck $25 worth of bloodstones with inexperience. Turned out pretty nice eh? Considering the difficulty of the project.

So hail Odin, Loki and Freyja and my honoured Disir, who helped guide my hand during this productive crafting time. My wand is done, all oiled and waxed with the onyx set in the handle, my runes are now done. Honoured Gods, Goddesses and ancestors, thanks for Your help!

About Monica Baker

Stay at home mom trying to get back into the workforce and blogging about it. Nothing super exciting really. But if you insist on reading go right ahead. If anything feel free to leave tips!

Posted on August 2, 2013, in Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

