What defines a “devotional relationship” with a God or Goddess?

I have been told by some people that one cannot ( or should not) do (insert Thing here) if one does not have a devotional relationship with said God or Goddess. That has always confused me. Why? You may ask. Pretty simple. All my models for a “devotional relationship” with the Divine, is through the Protestant or Catholic Judeo Christian model, and to be frank, my relationship with my Gods, is definitely not like that at all.

I don’t sing hymns, I don’t say prayers. I go “morning! What’s up? Here’s Your coffee.” I chat with Them throughout my day, and once a day I go and meditate. If They ask me to do something, I do my best to fulfil the request, but, the whole dynamic does NOT feel like the Judeo Christian model of devotion worship that I have been modelled my entire life, heck I don’t read reference materials that often. I know the gist of the Eddas and lore, but the in depth study of various translations? Nope, not for me and I don’t feel particularly called to do so.

I don’t fast for my Gods either. Actually I have been expressly forbidden by both Loki and Odin to do so. I don’t know why, They have Their Reasons and I’m just gonna go “okay boss” and not entertain that youth ever again.

I keep going to the Judeo Christian reference, let me clear it up. The model I’m familiar with for devotion is, going to church 1-3 times a week, group bible study once a week, nightly bible readings, prayer, rinse and repeat. There is Lent starting today, so the hordes of faithful are evaluating and going through things to give up for lent to show their devotion. Both Protestant and Catholics do this.

I figure that my house hasn’t burnt down and I haven’t been killed in a horrific bloody and spectacular way, I’m still doing it right. Odin told me today that what we have (Loki, Him and I) goes a little bit deeper than a purely devotional practice. I think I’ll take His word on it and leave it at that.

About Monica Baker

Stay at home mom trying to get back into the workforce and blogging about it. Nothing super exciting really. But if you insist on reading go right ahead. If anything feel free to leave tips!

Posted on March 5, 2014, in Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

