Getting worn down

Life as an independent author is a pain in the ass.  Seriously.  Sure, you don’t have editors breathing down your throats regarding deadlines, you don’t have to deal with sketchy houses not paying you your royalties, but there’s just something missing.  Oh yeah, actual royalties and the time to get to work on a new book.

See, as an Indie, I need to keep my ass glued to Twitter and Facebook, and yes, this blog, to promote my book so it can sell.  I don’t have the huge marketing arm that a publishing house has.

So I’ve spent the past few days pitching.  Pitched to a few small-ish publishing houses with decent track records, *Piers Anthony has a great up to date list on houses, along with reviews of some of them:  http://hipiers.com/publishing.html * and today I pitched to an agent.  I’m not a salesperson.  I’m an author.  I’m not great at blowing sunshine up peoples asses to get them to buy something.  I want my work to speak for itself.  Unfortunately that isn’t how the writing world works if you want your book to get out there.  So, I’m trying to get it into the hands of people with that skill.  The waiting game is a bitch.

*sigh*  I just want to get to work on my second book.  Is that too much to ask?  But no, I need to keep promoting.

I think I’ll use https://bufferapp.com/ to automate my tweets and get back to @ replies when I can.   Figure if I sprinkle some funny/witty non-promo tweets with some actual promo tweets, people won’t get fed up.  I dunno.

About Monica Baker

Stay at home mom trying to get back into the workforce and blogging about it. Nothing super exciting really. But if you insist on reading go right ahead. If anything feel free to leave tips!

Posted on March 21, 2014, in General Crap and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

