Don’t be naive – the pagan community has always had pervs

This. THIS THIS THIS. As someone who was also taken advantage of by a pagan creeper….it resonates with me.

Adventures and Musings of an Arch Druidess

I?m kind of surprised at the level of astonishment at Kenny Klein as if he was the first pervert paganism has ever had. The people expressing it are either willfully naïve or damned stupid. When I came into the pagan community there were a lot fewer men and most of the organizations were run by women. And a lot of the men who came into the pagan community were of the ?free love? variety and expected women to be loose and free with their favours.

There were men we regularly warned each other about. At Harvest Moon we had some presenters that are now pagan elders that were handsy to put it mildly. One with the initials of AK used to be so dumb about lesbians he would hit on any woman near him including those of us in short hair, vests and ties who only really associated with other…

View original post 525 more words

About Monica Baker

Stay at home mom trying to get back into the workforce and blogging about it. Nothing super exciting really. But if you insist on reading go right ahead. If anything feel free to leave tips!

Posted on April 1, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Continuing on the theme:

    If I had thought about the way it was considered so ordinary to have the Frosts leading, well, anything, it would have told me so much more about the culture of Florida Pagan Gathering leadership. Sadly, I had to find that out on my own .

    You see, there was another predator there a few years ago. He was with me for awhile, until I got a warning from another young woman he ‘knew.’ His days past of threats and sexually aggressive behavior, which had gotten him banned only temporarily from festival, were not in the past after all. He was getting worse, not better, and he didn’t care. It couldn’t all be blamed on a change of meds or what have you. I heeded the warning and got him out of my life, posthaste and permanently.

    Or so I thought.

    With the woman’s permission, I forwarded a screen cap of some of his text conversation, in which he bragged about a sexual violation. It wasn’t enough to get him in trouble with the law, but it should have been enough to attract the attention of the FPG board member I sent it to. I added ‘You cannot sweep this under the rug.’

    She ignored me and brought the predator as her very own guest. He drove a staff golf cart. He made violent threats toward a number of women. He threatened the fire tenders, which was still not enough to get him kicked off the premises but was enough to get him permanently banned at last.

    And yet, when I mentioned what a bad idea it was to bring him in the first place, I was banned from staff for a year.

    You should have told us privately, said another board member. ‘We would have listened.’ Well, I had already tried that, and the results were not spectacular.

    Here is my point: the current controversy over the Frosts being at FPG is really not a new issue. It’s an old one. It’s all about speaking out in favor of safety and being ignored or even punished. It’s about people in positions of leadership who don’t have a heart for the vulnerable.

    Noticing and commenting on this years-long trend doesn’t make me a Debbie Downer. Calling out the Board’s negligence is not ‘drama.’ Calling for changes doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate the staff and all they have done. It means I expect better from a group I used to call my community. I could call it that again, after a drastic change in leadership.

Leave a Reply

