Vaccines and a UPG of sorts

note this is my UPG. Nobody else’s. All mine. So please keep on mind as you read this.

I was hanging out on Facebook, like I usually do, and a friend of mine posted up this: http://imgur.com/a/eZFng now, my friend isn’t an anti vaccine dude. He’s actually one of the more vocal pro vaccine people on my friends list, and he had a kid with autism.

Now as I read that, a thought popped into my head that wasn’t just “holy Hel, the stupid here, it burns” (yes that thought popped into my head as well don’t get me wrong.). It was “wow, I wonder what the Gods think of this stupidity? Like Odin, Freyja and Hel, all were very worshipped and present way before vaccines were around, and They saw the ravages of smallpox, measles, mumps, rubella, whooping cough, you name it. They had to take the children ravaged by these diseases, into Their arms before they could live their lives to the fullest.

I got a surge of grief and anger from Odin when I asked that question. These diseases are vaccine preventable now. He doesn’t WANT to take kids from their parents. Hel doesn’t, Frau Holda doesn’t. Freyja doesn’t. They WANT children to grow up and live full lives. The amount of pure fear and stupidity in the antivaccine movement astounds Him. They keep children alive. Now that these nearly eradicated diseases are making a comeback in children, I feel, more grief and anger from Odin. They can be prevented, why don’t parents prevent them? Foolish people, sacrificing their children because of unfounded and pseudoscientific fears.

Oh and let’s not forget that viruses mutate. We didn’t eradicate them fully, so guess what. There is a strong possibility that these childhood diseases will mutate to get around current vaccines because they haven’t been eliminated as completely as smallpox was, becoming more deadly and more virulent. If everyone would have stuck with vaccinating, all those deadly childhood diseases would have been wiped out already, now we face the possibility of vaccine resistant strains.

That’s my rant. This is my blog, and my UPG. If i find any crazy comments promoting Wakefield and pseudoscience, I will not approve them so don’t bother wasting your time.

 

Edit to add:  I know there are parents who literally CAN NOT Vaccinate their kids.  This blog post is directed at those parents who swallow the pseudoscientific garbage that’s pumped out by the anti-vaccine movement and the debunked study of Andrew Wakefield.

About Monica Baker

Stay at home mom trying to get back into the workforce and blogging about it. Nothing super exciting really. But if you insist on reading go right ahead. If anything feel free to leave tips!

Posted on May 5, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Well said! And I have two children who are Autists…

Leave a Reply

