Ramblings. I made a comment in a group, thought I’d share

Odin has never been nasty to me. Lessons, and some of those lessons have been cruel, but never ever outright malicious for the sake of being malicious, same with Loki. I love Them with all my heart. Odin never wanted my fear. He never wanted my terror. He wanted my love. He got it. I don’t get the grandfather Odin….He manifests to me as Snake from Escape from New York, but with more grey in his hair…

Personal relationships with the Gods are just that. Personal. MY Odin isn’t the same as YOUR Odin. MY Loki isn’t the same as YOUR Loki. The Gods present themselves to us in the way they think WE need to see Them for our benefit. Sure there are common traits when UPG/Doxis align with everyone else and it’s like “WOAH coolies” But yeah…

I’m not what you would call a reconstructionist. The Lore has a place, but, the times are NOW, modern. We have the internet, we have cars, and trains and airplanes…We have plastics, and super light metals. The Traditions of Old are good and all, but bringing the Gods into the modern world will be a good thing. Hence why the Marvel Cinematic Universe isn’t exactly a NEGATIVE thing. It has it’s place. It’s bringing at least the names back onto the people’s lips and into their hearts, where they can take root, and grow, spark the imaginations and grow their strength.

This is a blog from one of the ladies I hold in high esteem:http://lokisbruid.wordpress.com/…/embracing-marvel…/ It’s pretty well written and explains what I’m trying to explain.

Of course, my walk with the Gods is a very intimate one, much different than many of you.  Your walk is different than mine. Neither are wrong, just different. Different is not wrong.

About Monica Baker

Stay at home mom trying to get back into the workforce and blogging about it. Nothing super exciting really. But if you insist on reading go right ahead. If anything feel free to leave tips!

Posted on July 28, 2014, in Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I will say that Odin kinda gets a raw deal in the Marvelverse. I think He’s portrayed a lot douchier than He actually is. I know He’s like Loki in that He doesn’t care if you like Him so long as you do what He wants you to, but still. :-/

    • oh I know.
      My rant on that board was really geared towards some of the recons there. The “You’re Doin It Wrong” crowd. lol

      I’m with you on it. They could have shown more of Odin’s many faces, other than “Douchebag” and “Grieving Hurt I’mma kick everyone’s ass” (Face it, Norse!Odin can be a Royal Douchebag at times. He always has His reasons for it though.) Movie Odin was a victim of shit writing. Who knows, we might see a better side of him in Thor3?

Leave a Reply

