The “good” disabled person

I was at the hospital today getting blood work taken and Xrays done on my spine to see what has been causing my back pain that has been going on for 7 years now.

For the longest time, I didn’t want to go to the doctor. I’ve been told time and time again by other people, that I must have injured myself, slept wrong, did something, that I was too young for this kind of pain. I was too young for this kind of pain. Since when has pain become an age thing anyway?

I told this to an old lady in the waiting room when she asked me why I was there. She looked at me and said “Sometimes, the body doesn’t give a damn about how old you are when it chooses to break.”

But yeah, I’ve spent the better part of 7 years acting like nothing was wrong. Pushing beyond my pain, trying to be as independent as possible because I felt I had no other choice. Helping a friend clean her house from top to bottom lest CPS come and take her child away, left me virtually bed ridden in agony for the better part of a week. Raking leaves, washing the floor, household tasks that I *should* be able to do, and am *expected* to do on a routine basis, either get done, to my detriment, or they don’t get done, and I get growled at.

Maybe I need to step up and be more assertive once I get this diagnosis of wtf is wrong with me, maybe. I dunno.

About Monica Baker

Stay at home mom trying to get back into the workforce and blogging about it. Nothing super exciting really. But if you insist on reading go right ahead. If anything feel free to leave tips!

Posted on October 23, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

